Traditional Values & Virtues

Gifts of the Holy Spirit:

wisdom, understanding, knowledge, counsel, fortitude, reverence (piety), wonder and awe in God's presence (fear of the Lord)
Fruits of the Holy Spirit:
love, joy, peace, patience, kindness, goodness, generosity, gentleness, faithfulness, modesty, self-control, chastity
Gospel values animating Catholic schooling:
Source: Reck, Carleen. Vision and Values. NCEA: Washington, DC. 1983.


truth, fidelity, tradition, doctrine, prayer, revelation, reading scripture


commitment, caring, concern, involvement, empathy, almsgiving


sacrifice, self-denial, fortitude, restraint, discipline, patience, temperance


courage, risk, human dignity, stewardship, prophecy, interdependence, peace-seeking, equal distribution of goods, fortitude, empathy


optimism, confidence, joy, realism, providence, trust, prophecy, restraint, discipline, patience, temperance
Love (towards God) – reverence, worship, submission, prayer
(towards self) – self-esteem, prudence, temperance, creativity
(toward others) – care, concern, respect, acceptance


forgiveness, mercy, compassion, humility, conflict resolution, work to eliminate evil


personal dignity, belonging, equality, fellowship, trust


1. Blessed are the poor in spirit, for theirs is the kingdom of Heaven.
2. Blessed are those who mourn, for they shall be comforted.
3. Blessed are the meek, for they shall inherit the earth.
4. Blessed are those who hunger and thirst for justice, for they shall be satisfied.
5. Blessed are the merciful, for they shall obtain mercy.
6. Blessed are the pure of heart, for they shall see God.
7. Blessed are the peacemakers, for they shall be called children of God.
8. Blessed are those who suffer persecution for justice sake, for there is the kingdom of heaven.


1. I am the Lord your God. You shall worship the Lord your God and Him only shall you serve.
2. You shall not take the name of the Lord your God in vain.
3. Remember to keep holy the Sabbath day.
4. Honor your father and your mother.
5. You shall not kill.
6. You shall not commit adultery.
7. You shall not steal.
8. You shall not bear false witness against your neighbor.
9. You shall not covet your neighbor's wife.
10. You shall not covet your neighbor's goods.

The corporal works of mercy are:

1. Feed the hungry.
2. Give drink to the thirsty.
3. Clothe the naked.
4. Shelter the homeless.
5. Visit the sick.
6. Visit the imprisoned.
7. Bury the dead.

The spiritual works of mercy are:

1. Counsel the doubtful.
2. Instruct the ignorant.
3. Admonish the sinner.
4. Comfort the sorrowful.
5. Forgive injuries.
6. Bear wrongs patiently.
7. Pray for the living and the dead.

Catholic Social Justice Themes:

1. Life and Dignity of the Human Person
2. Call to Family, Community, and Participation
3. Rights and Responsibilities
4. Option for the Poor and Vulnerable
5. The Dignity of Work and the Rights of Workers
6. Solidarity
7. Care for God's Creation

Conscience and free will

Parables / Miracles
Communion of Saints
Paschal Mystery
Common Good


Klein, Rev. Peter. The Catholic Source Book. Harcourt Religion Publishers, Orlando, FL. 2007.
Pontifical Council for Justice and Peace. Compendium of the Social Doctrine of the Church. United States Conference of Catholic Bishops, Washington, DC. 2005.
Welch, Sister Mary Leanne, PBVM. A Beginning: Resource Book for Incorporating Values and Church Teachings in the catholic School Curriculum. NCEA, Washington, DC. 1990.

Developed by:

Leanne Welch, PBVM for the Catholic Identity Curriculum Integration (CICI). June 2012